fish!
fish!
square square
fence
2004-05-31 | 1:51 a.m.

Hello world... After two months, I FINALLY have my computer back. I didn't really see it coming, so I didn't warn anybody that I would be electronically incommunicado for awhile. 7-10 days turned into a month, and then two months, and in the end it took more than 9 weeks to fix my computer. I'm taking it back to Best Buy this weekend because, although the innards seem to work perfectly, the exterior of the computer is scratched, dinged, and the monitor has a dent in it. After nine weeks, countless phone calls, and sending the computer back to be repaired THREE times, I totally deserve a new computer, dammit.

But that's neither here nor there. I want to talk about boys.

I have been on two dates now with this guy... we'll call him Tuffy. I can't begin to tell you how much I resisted him at first. After dating the restaurant manager and the college kid earlier this winter, I am VERY skeptical of men right now. I opened up to them way too fast and expected way too much, which has taught me caution and, perhaps, pessimism.

So I had date #1 with Tuffy last week and, as Sarah and David know, approached it with immense trepidation. I expected it to be awful, I expected him to be arrogant. I was surprised when we actually got along, and had a lot in common. We defintely disagreed on some points (education and music... two subjects that are frighteningly close to my heart), but overall it was smooth for a first date.

Date #2 was tonight and it was even better. We just chatted for about three hours over coffee and chocolate--a nonstop conversation. He is very interesting. And REALLY cute. Like I-want-to-pinch-your-cheeks cute, especially when he smiles.

So now I am in a quandary. I went on the first date expecting nothing. I went on the second date not expecting much more. I now sit here, post-second-date, intrigued and I guess excited. I want to see him again--soon. I'm going out of town for a few days and I sort of don't want to go anymore... BUT I don't want to get hurt again like in the Restaurant and College Boy experiences.

Logic says proceed with exTREME caution.

Romance/lust says hurry the fuck up and see where this can lead.

And where do I sit?

On the fence.

last entry | next entry