fish!
fish!
square square
gadfly
2004-02-07 | 12:33 p.m.

God, my life has been crazy recently. I'm going through a ridiculously social phase right now. I can't think of a single night in the past two or three weeks when I've stayed at home. I'm not sure what's going on, because this is very out-of-the-ordinary for me. I usually go out for a few nights, then stay in to recuperate and have some Rusty-time.

Part of it may be the guy I was dating. I was sort of on an adrenaline rush, and so I wanted to hang out with people all the time when I wasn't hanging out with him. You'll notice that I'm describing him in past-tense. Yes, we called it off. Actually, I called it off. I finally talked to him on Tuesday night and he wanted to hang out the next day. I hemmed, hawed, and finally said, "So... do you see this going anywhere? Because I'm not getting any vibes from you. I like you a lot, I think you're fun, I like getting to know you... but I almost never see you and I don't get the impression that I am a priority to you right now." After a lot of indignence, he said, "Well, to be perfectly honest, there are more important things in my life right now than you." Which essentially ended it for me. We got off the phone, and then I felt really bad for springing this on him. I called back to apologize and see if he wanted to talk more about it the next day, but he was an asshole, said, "It's really not important," and hung up on me.

So that's over.

I feel good about it. I'm proud of myself for standing up to him and letting him know that I need more from him. I now realize that I am a TERRIBLE dater. I've never done it before. I'll start dating somebody, but then it immediately turns into a committed relationship that lasts 2-3 years. New Boy didn't want to have anything to do with that. Even if I DID want to just date him, he was a jerk and I deserve better, so I'm glad we're done.

But now I have the dating "bug," so I'm anxious to meet other people. Maybe if I practice dating more, it'll get easier. I have some leads on people who want to set me up, so maybe I'll have to start pursuing those.

I'm having a battle, though, because I really enjoy being single. When people are in relationships they get so much more inaccessible. I'm thinking of my best friends right now, the people that I can always call to hang out with... and they're all single. The people in relationships tend to fall down the "callability" scale. I'm very happy in my life right now... maybe I don't need a man? Yay, that would be a fun revelation.

But DAMN the sex with New Boy was good. I miss that already.

Oh, in completely unrelated news: Remember a few entries ago, when I mentioned that I went to the penthouse apartment of this powerful, important person? I was invited there by a friend (who's gay), and he wanted me to meet the powerful, important guy and his partner, who have been together for a long time. (I think they're in their 40-50s.) Well, that same friend went to their apartment again last night, and afterwards he left me a funny voicemail. He said that they were talking about me, and the guys were saying how much they liked me and wanted to see me again. And then they started talking about having a three-way with me....... I listened to the message three times because I was laughing so hard..... It's sort of flattering and sort of creepy all at once. Sometimes it's fun to be objectified.

last entry | next entry