fish!
fish!
square square
busy busy busy busy
2004-02-03 | 9:23 p.m.

Ohmigod: this weekend. Where to begin?

Friday: Work till 6:30, then dinner with Carrie. Long conversation at my apartment until the wee hours.

Saturday afternoon: Watch "Attack of the Clones" again for some reason. See this entry for my previous observations about how bad Episode 1 is. The same feelings carry over to this movie.

Saturday early evening: Happy hour with two co-workers whom I love at a very swanky Uptown tapas bar. We talk boys, boys, boys... except the lesbian, who talks girls, girls girls. It's fun to talk dirty and gossip with people with whom you normally have to be "professional."

Saturday night: Straight to the liquor store, then Julie's where the boozing begins. Stay sober enough to drive us to the gay bar for our friend's birthday. LOTS of drama there because the birthday girl invited the boy she has been dating that she wants to dump, and she also invited the guy that she has a crush on. Disaster waiting to happen! I got PLOWED at the bar, danced way more than I normally would, watched Julie randomly make out with a girl wearing bad jeans, did shots, briefly watched a drag show, etc. The usual. The after-party was very fun, but I don't remember much of it besides sitting at a table, trying to "out" some poor college kid, and telling another random girl how much I love her. God, what a night. (Sorry Jules--your entry on the night does it SO much more justice!)

Sunday morning: Woke up slightly hung-over. Layed in bed for a long time before finally rolling over to get up. Suddenly notice that there is a GIRL sleeping in my bed! AAAAHHH! What have I DONE!?!?!?!?!?!

Sunday morning/afternoon: Laze around watching chick flicks on TBS most of the day. "Beaches" and "The Bodyguard" are included.

Sunday late afternoon: Drive to St. Paul and go SLEDDING with two other co-workers! I haven't been sledding for at LEAST ten years, probably more. It was a blast. I went down a slope called "Dead Man's Hill" and I think I stared death in the face. The eight-year olds didn't seem as scared as I did, though. I wish I had pictures of my pale, horrified face as I zip down the hill in my pink sled...

Sunday evening: Go to see the Ice Castle with co-workers. It is fun, and a beautiful night with big fat snowflakes falling all around us. We get hot cocoa, watch ice-skaters, and celebrate being Minnesotan.

Sunday late evening: Go out to a late dinner with co-workers. Talk about relationships for a LONG time. Having lots of heart-to-hearts with co-workers this weekend, which is fine with me.

Monday night: Out to coffee with Carrie, where we proceed to have an hour-long conversation in Spanish! I was so proud of myself, and of her, who just started speaking Spanish recently. (She's so smart it makes me sick.)

.......

......

...and despite all of this, I STILL feel strange and lonely because I haven't heard from New Boy since Thursday. He was supposed to call me on Saturday and never did. I left a message for him last night and still haven't heard anything. I'm being as understanding as I possibly can because he's dealing with all of his medical stuff. Maybe he got a bad diagnosis and he's very emotional. I'm just giving this some time. But if I find out that there is no good reason that he didn't call me, it's over. I can't wait this long. This is like slow-motion dating. I haven't seen him for almost two weeks... I'd rather not be dating him at all than sit around wondering if he likes me every day because I haven't heard from him. It makes me feel pathetic, especially when I have so many amazing friends who keep me very busy!!!

last entry | next entry