fish!
fish!
square square
blurby blurb show
2003-10-19 | 3:01 p.m.

Little blurbs about my life right now...

1. Here's how completely messed up I am. I posted a profile on one of those stupid internet dating things along with a picture. I put it in "hiding" mode after a few days because I would lay awake at night thinking of all the people I know who might come across it. Then I subscribed to the service and decided to e-mail a few people who I was interested in. You see, in hiding mode the only people who can see your profile are those that you contact first.

So I sent two e-mails yesterday morning to two guys that I like. And then I sat here ALL DAY yesterday PRAYING TO GOD that neither of them would write back, because the thought of getting to know somebody over the Internet and then going on a blind date with them was so horrifying to me. Are you picking up on some of these contraditions?

One of them wrote me back this morning and, when I saw the message sitting there, I couldn't even read it. I got up, made a pot of coffee, watched the news for a little while, did a little cleaning, and then finally decided to take it like a man and come back to read the message. I am so bizarre.

So I wrote him back this afternoon and we'll see how things go. I'm sort of nervous (are you surprised?) because in his pictures he looks gorgeous. Totally gorgeous. And I'm neurotic.

2. My writing is going very well. I joined an informal writers' group that meets every other Monday. My turn to submit material is in early November, so I have been plugging away at the first chapter of my book. After a lot of rewriting already, I think it shows promise. I'm excited about it, which is the most important thing.

3. My friend Carrie is dating a guy who looks a lot like me. In fact, I would go so far as to say that he is the only person I have ever met who really looks like me. My first thought when I met him was, "Oh my, he's attractive." And then I thought, "Hmm, he reminds me of somebody." And then my final thought was, "OH MY GOD--CARRIE IS DATING ME!!!"

I wonder if this is some sort of weird straight-girl-wants-to-screw-her-homosexual-friend-but-can't,-so-she-starts-dating-straight-guy-who-(although-lacking-homosexual-friend's-wit-and-charm)-looks-just-like-said-homosexual thing? It's even more suspicious because Carrie is VERY particular about whom she dates, and as far as I can tell this guy has nothing in common with her. He's not even a Republican. But she totally likes him for some reason. I like him a lot too (as a person), so I'm trying to find other friends of mine to hook him up with so he can stay in my life when the him-and-Carrie thing falls through.

4. Um, let's see... that's all for now. Digest.

last entry | next entry