fish!
fish!
square square
government on ice!
2003-01-09 | 8:38 p.m.

I had the interview with the gay children's book author tonight. It was fun and pretty low key. I felt sort of dorky talking about myself so much, because my life really isn't that exciting, but I guess it was fun being wined-and-dined. A little too much "wined"--I got tipsy! He is working on a fiction book for adolescents and his imagined protagonist creepily matches my real life, so when he found this out (through a mutual friend) he wanted to interview me about my experiences. Very odd, having a complete stranger asking me, "So when was the first time you kissed a boy? Did you jerk off with other kids when you were younger?" in a public place with people sitting very close to us on either side. That aside, it was cool. Oh yeah, and he labelled me "anal-retentive," which really boiled my blood. I only mop my floor twice a week--that isn't THAT much, is it?

In other news, our wonderful new governor has frozen all state spending, and when he proposes his new budget next week who knows if the agency I work for will even be around anymore. What an asshole. They interviewed him tonight and he was at a hockey rink, ready to play some other governer in a hockey match. So he's out yukking it up for the camera when some people are not going to be able to sleep tonight because they may not have a job tomorrow. Asshole.

I can't wait to call my boy tonight and tell him all about the interview. He was so jealous about it because, well, he's an insanely jealous person. It's sort of flattering in its own unique way. I like messing with him, which I'm sure is very mean of me but it's so much fun (and so easy!). Sigh. Sometimes it's nice to have predictability, huh?

last entry | next entry