fish!
fish!
square square
dr. laura in whips and chains
2002-12-20 | 8:08 p.m.

I had a really fun day today. It was Alumni Day at the school, and I was somehow roped into helping facilitate it. (I guess because I'm an alum and I work there now?) But it ended up being much more fun than I expected. I had a good time signing people in, chatting with old alums who I had never met before (and who looked like REAL grownups!) and chatting with people who had gone to the school when I was there. Some guy from a semi-famous band was there, and he was really nice and down-to-earth. He met with the music students and they seemed to really respond to him. They also liked the regular music alums, which included a booker at First Ave and a DJ on some famous Mpls. radio station (which I'm sure anybody else in the Twin Cities would know, but if it's not 91.1 KNOW, I have no idea what it is...).

After that, Angela and I went to a music concert at 1:30 which was SO good. It was a combination of acoustic/classical and JRE (rock-y stuff), and by and large it was very good. I was really impressed by the talent of some of the students. It also made me realize that either my graduating class was preternaturally ugly, or this year's group is preternaturally attractive, one of the two. They're making them younger and younger.... and in pairs!

I had fun chatting with some students before the festivities began and after the concert. Since I'm the "new guy" at work, and especially because I work in an entirely separate building from the school, it is tough for me to meet and interact with students. I usually walk through the main building and ignore the students because I don't know them and they don't know me. That is slowly changing, which is very cool, because what's the fun of being back at Arts High if the only people I speak with are staff and faculty! Yawn... As fascinating as the librarian is.......

You should have come, but I guess you gotta do what you gotta do.

Now I'm going to hang out with Sarah doing something or another tonight, perhaps involving liquor. The gay frat party is out, unforunately. I had already planned my wardrobe and everything! Ah well... there will be another time for that, I'm sure. I had a great time at coffee with Sarah last night, and I really liked the place (which is fairly close to where I live). I just hope I'm never the 40 year old gay guy who goes to the coffeeshop by himself. Oye...

Did you hear that Dr. Laura's mother was found murdered, and she had been locked in her apartment for weeks?? The creepiest thing is that Dr. Laura's statement about the murder said, "she died just like she lived: alone and isolated." What a thing to say about your murdered mother!!! That woman is one of the most fucked up people on the face of this planet. Americans sure love a sadist, don't they...

last entry | next entry