fish!
fish!
square square
chiggidy-check
2004-03-18 | 9:30 p.m.

I've decided that I'm never going on another second date--I'm going straight from the first date to the third date. Second dates always mess everything up.

I thought things went swimmingly last night. This morning I got a cute e-mail from him asking me what we should do on Friday night. I wrote back a long, SUPER cute e-mail giving him different choices. I outdid myself on cuteness, I must admit, with that e-mail.

And then this afternoon he responded with a bizarre e-mail where he basically said, "Your e-mail was cute, the date ideas sound fun, but I want you to know right now that I'm not looking for a long-term relationship.

And that was it.

How strange is that? He wasn't trying to cut the relationship off, he just wanted to let me know that he isn't looking for a "relationship-relationship" right now. His words:

I want to go out, have a blast, talk, maybe have a little somethin', and let it be what it is.

I wrote back, a little peeved, that I don't "have a little somethin'" with people who are simultaneously "havin' a little somethin'" with other people. I'm bad at casual dating, I know, but I think I could do it. But it's weird to have somebody tell you that they don't want anything serious after a second date. If you like somebody, what's the point in dinking around with other people? And he gives me a million "I like you" vibes, so this is all bizarre.

After my angry e-mail, he wrote back a nice one just saying "I didn't tell you that for any particular reason, I just wanted to make sure we're on the same page." Fine. We're on the same page, I guess. But I'm still a bit miffed. I'm sure I'll still go out with him tomorrow night, but I can't imagine it being that great now. I probably need to chiggidy-check myself, but I'm downright vexed.

last entry | next entry