fish!
fish!
square square
asshole
2004-03-14 | 7:25 p.m.

I have been on the verge of labeling the restaurant guy I dated in January an asshole ever since I met him. That label is now officially in effect.

I have been blissfully able to extricate him from my life, ever since I called to see where our relationship was going and he told me, point blank, that I wasn't a priority to him. Fine, no big deal, not that invested in the relationship yet.

And since then, two things have happened:

1. I'm going on a date with a (potentially) fantastic guy on Monday, and,

2. I found out that I have The Clap.

The two issues are DEFINITELY in conflict, and both are stressing me out a bit.

On Sunday I decided to do the right thing... I called Restaurant Guy at his home, woke him up, and told him that I have chlamydia and he's the only person I've slept with since last May, so he should get tested. He just said, "Okay" and we hung up.

A few hours later he left a voicemail for me. Wait, let me grab my cellphone so I can get the wording exactly correct....

"Hey Rusty, it's X calling you back. Sorry I was so out of it when you called earlier, I was sleeping. But since we hung out I've had multiple doctor's appointments and I've had a full physical, a work-up of tests, and I don't have anything. So, thanks for the heads up, but I am clean. All right, talk to you later."

Which PISSES ME OFF!!

He is implying that I magically sprouted a sexually transmitted disease a few weeks after sleeping with him, after months of celibacy. I shouldn't be surprised by his reaction... he's so egotistical and arrogant, I'm sure he would never believe that he gave me an STD. Because he's perfect, right?

Asshole.

So I left another message for him, but I'm sure he'll never call me back. I couldn't care less if he carries chlamydia for the rest of his life, but I feel bad for the other poor saps that he'll ensnare with his stupid antics and infect with his toxic wanger.

I'm also a bit mad at myself. This STD thing reminds me that I jump into relationships too fast. After one date, I was already making long-term plans for Restaurant Boy and me. Things during the date went so well that I didn't think a thing of jumping into bed with him, assuming that he felt the same way about me. Stupid. Naive.

So now I'm seeing Too Perfect tomorrow and I'm approaching it with much more caution. No sudden moves. Definitely not sleeping with him on the first or even the second date. I've never done this "waiting" thing before, so it will be a true test of my willpower...... Thank god I have the STD excuse--that will give me the strength to resist! :)

last entry | next entry