fish!
fish!
square square
5=cute??
2003-02-02 | 10:25 p.m.

Another day of two entries. If you didn't read it already, read this instead because it is much more thoughtful and important than what follows.

My boy and I got into a serious conversation about race, sexuality, and identity tonight, and it made me realize how out-of-touch I feel with the gay community. I always have, but it has never bothered me as much as it does now. So I did what anybody would do: placed an online personal ad.

It seems strange that this emerged from a conversation with my sort-of long distance boyfriend, but it did. I think I'm looking more for gay companionship than anything else. I love my straight friends, they all know that, but I feel like I need to meet somebody who can get me into the "community," if such a thing exists in Minneapolis. I sometimes ignore the fact that yes, I am gay, and yes, that is an important part of who I am. I don't expect much from the ad. I did it on a whim and I'll probably ignore most of the responses that I receive. But I guess it's worth a try. I don't know why I feel so isolated suddenly, but I do, and perhaps this is a pathetic step in the right direction? Yes/no? Let me know what you think.

PS--In the ad I wrote that I was "very cute," because I realized that everybody in personal ads is "cute," which is what I would normally say about myself. I think that "cute" in the Fucked Up Land of Personal Ads is a 5 or a 6 on an Attractiveness Scale of 1-10, and I find myself to be above that, so I chose "very cute" to emphasize that point even though I would normally never describe myself using those words paired together. Ya dig? I just had to rationalize that for the world to see.

last entry | next entry