fish!
fish!
square square
imagine
2003-01-31 | 4:31 p.m.

You know that movie "Clue"? Where all of these guests come together at a spooky old mansion (I think I ripped that phrase straight from a Scooby Doo episode), but they don't know why they're there, and they don't know who invited them, and they don't know who the other guests are? So this is my life.

As part of my job, I facilitated a discussion about the imagination last night and all day today. The guests were eminent people from the metro area: presidents, CEOs, professors, architects, administrators, designers, visual artists, etc. The event was part of a larger, national discussion that is occurring--we are just one of many cities holding such a conversation. The goal of the event is not to come up with a ten-point plan, or even to produce a tangible result--it is just intended to get people from very diverse backgrounds together to have an intelligent discussion about the role and importance of imagination and creativity in private and professional life.

So yeah, my job rules.

But last night was hilarious! Most of these people had NO idea what they were doing there. They walked into the Center so tentatively, as if they were ready to bolt at any second. They had been hand-selected to attend, and were coerced into coming by a nice phone call from the head honchos at the Center. I could see their eyes darting nervously about, looking at me apprehensively as I took their coat off to some hidden room. Now they HAD to stay, at least for dinner.

The dinner was this fancy, formal event. Linen tablecloths, china, the works. I wasn't around for that part, but I heard that there was some awkward conversation, since nobody knew who anybody else was. We intentionally made name tags that didn't list the person's affiliation or position, just their name. I think this emasculated the guests in a way--they weren't a President or CEO anymore, they were just John and Louise and Wynnona. (Okay, there wasn't really a Wynnona, but wouldn't that have rocked?)

Finally, after a painful dinner, the guests were herded into a room where they were sat in a large circle, kindegarten-style. Finally the head facilitator explained the goal of the event--to talk, to debate, to inspire one another. People seemed even more nervous.

But then the introductions began. Suddenly people realized that they were surrounded by people just like them: heads of colleges, lawyers, government officials. It was such a "Clue" moment. Suddenly the connection between all of these individuals was so clear. They were community, education, and business leaders, called together to brainstorm a very important topic. They were now intrigued.

The conversation today was amazing. Put the most interesting, articulate, well-educated, well-read people in a room together and the conversation will always be interesting. But get them talking about something that they normally never discuss--the importance of creativity and innovation in their lives--and you can't shut them up! The dialogue was unbelievable. I can't express it in words, verbal or typed. You just had to be there to feel the energy and excitement in the room. The zeitgeist, if you will. I think they were so excited to be away from their desks, their cell phones, their e-mail, and to just TALK to one another. It was so fascinating to me and I am very fortunate to have been a part of it.

This entry isn't as sarcastic/cynical/tongue-in-cheek as many of my others. I was really inspired by their conversation, and I can't even make fun of it. (Even the moment when one guest asked us to close our eyes as she sang the first verse of "Imagine" by John Lennon. A moment ripe for my usual fun-poking, but it was a wonderful moment that will undoubtedly be one of my lasting impressions of the event.)

I have the best job in the entire fucking world, and I'll sing it from the rooftops.

last entry | next entry