fish!
fish!
square square
good day, sunshine
2004-09-19 | 1:42 a.m.

Will there come a time in my life when flirting with waiters isn't fun and/or meaningful?

I spent the entire evening (okay, gross exaggeration... about three hours) flirting with the hotttttest waiter at Perkins. He was so adorable, and both my friend and I thought he had the hots for me. His hotness is of the cute, youthful variety. I pegged him at 22, my friend thinks he's 20 or 21--either way, he is an appropriate age to still be a Perkins waiter and not incur my scorn. I devised a very slick way to get my phone number in his hands. It all seemed very junior-high, but my friend and I were buzzing on caffeine and acting bizarrely anyways. I'll probably never see him again--which would be good, considering how frickin' busy I am right now--but it was indeed fun while it lasted.

The whole day was fantastic. I woke up early (8:00 a.m.!) and resolved to enjoy the beautiful weather. I walked to French Meadow and grabbed an outdoor table so I could read the paper, drink coffee, and eat 1/3 of a ridiculously huge cinammon roll in the sunshine. Then I took a stroll around my neighborhood, which reminded me that yes, I do like it. It was fun to see people sitting out on their stoops and porches, reading the paper, cuddling with hubbies/"significant-others"/one-night-stands, putzing about in their little lawns. I saw more than one Walk of Shame in progress. (I'm talking sequins and high heels at 10:00 a.m.) It was fabulous.

Quickly home and then to Carrie's for a long game of tennis, dinner at Panera's, trip to the Guitar Center, screening of "Vanity Fair" (really enjoyable), and then flirting with hot hot hot waiter at Perkins. And now home, coming off a caffeine high (an entire pot to myself is a dumb idea), fiddling with my new electric guitar tuner, smiling.

I've been thinking about switching to livejournal. They seem so much more interactive, and, well, popular. If I can find a way to take my fish with me--we come as a pair, you see--I'll probably make the switch some day soon. I'm also sick of doing "anonymous" posts to all my lj friends--makes me feel like some randy sketchball.

last entry | next entry