fish!
fish!
square square
abba
2004-09-07 | 12:11 a.m.

Ok, so my unhealthy obsession with ABBA probably needs to stop.

I listen to it in my car in the morning. I listen to it late in the afternoon when nobody is around my office. I listen to it on the drive home. I sometimes play it on the piano. I just learned how to play one song on the guitar. I have a huge ABBA coffee table book, which is actually on my coffee table. And now I just bought a DVD of all their music videos, which I have been watching non-stop since Saturday night.

I know it's not healthy for a 24-year old man to be stuck on a Swedish pop band from the 1970s. (Attn: straight people--the last sentence is a SUREFIRE way to determine whether somebody is gay, BTW.) But I can control it. Every now and then I just crave a little danceable, singable, steering-wheel drummable music.

Who am I kidding--I crave it always!

It's sort of sick. Sarah gave me pathetic looks as we browsed through Best Buy on Saturday night. At one point I had the ABBA music video DVD and the ABBA Live in Concert DVD in my basket and I was holding a new compilation of their greatest hits, toying with the idea of dropping it in with the others. Luckily I found a $45 Barbra Streisand boxed set that preempted all other ABBA-related merchandise besides the music video DVD, on which I was intent on purchasing come hell or high water.

I did also buy Bjork's new CD, so hopefully her acoustic vocal throat-singing stuff will get me out of my 70's pop phase. I should also mention here that I have been listening to a lot of Queen. That's not even true--I've only been listening to one Queen song--"We Are the Champions"--on a daily basis. I actually got a little misty when I listened to it on Friday. Sometimes Freddy Mercury just speaks to you, ya know?

So my resolution is to chop my mullet, put away my disco ball, store my industrial strength lighter in the closet, and step back into the 21st Century.

Nice try. Agnetha needs my support, and I will never turn her down.

Agnetha

last entry | next entry