fish!
fish!
square square
tightrope
2004-08-11 | 10:44 p.m.

Blagh... I feel like such a bundle of emotions right now. So many things are moving so quickly in my life the lives of people around me.

My dad was in the hospital on Monday because he's had problems breathing and they think it's his heart. They did an angiogram and found lots of blockage in his arteries. The good news is that they aren't serious enough to require operation... so he will be put on lots of heart medication and a hospital exercise program. He is pretty morbid about the whole thing, mostly because....

My parents are pretty sure they are going to dissolve their software company. I can't remember my parents doing anything before they founded the company, which has been around for about 22 years. Business has been terrible recently, and one of their biggest clients just decided to switch to a competitor, so... they are going to close the doors. My dad is desperate to sell the company so he can pay off some of the debt he incurred in running a small business, but I don't know if he'll have any luck.

I have no idea what my parents will do. My mom is applying for part-time jobs. I don't know if my dad is even employable. He's been the president of his own business for 22 years... what do you do after that? I'm not sure if they'll have to sell their house, make drastic lifestyle changes, etc. They have always lived very comfortably, and I think this will take them down a few socioeconomic notches. It's all so depressing I can't even think about it. The thought of my 54-year-old mother filling out an application to work at a stupid phone company makes me cringe. Maybe it's snobbery.. I don't know. After seeing your parents living a certain lifestyle for your entire life, you just can't imagine them living in any other way. It seems like a sad way to slide into retirement.

I don't have any bad news on my own end, but I've been so busy that I don't have time to process everything. I'm studying for the LSAT and doing lots of research into law schools. My exboyfriend starts law school next Monday so I am very interested in that. I single-handedly launched a board of directors for the alumni association that I work with, which has been tremendously stressful and rewarding. I've been volunteering at the Fringe Festival in Minneapolis and attending shows when I have time. I've been working out every day and I've lost six pounds since early July. I officially have a 2-pack now... I'm working on the 6-pack. I've been developing a website based on my research into my family history. (I'll include a link from this site eventually, if anyone out there is mildly curious.) I'm working with a singer/songwriter and I might join his band playing the keyboards. I now have two accordions in my apartment and I am trying to master either/all of them. The school year is about to begin, so all the teachers are back on contract where I work and there's all sorts of buzz and drama there.

It's all just too much right now. It's not like it's all stress... but I guess it sort of is. Anything is stress right now, even the fun stuff.

I feel like I am on a very tight rope and I could fall off at any second. I'm normally completely in control of myself and my stress-level.

I don't know what's going on.

last entry | next entry