fish!
fish!
square square
clap on, clap off
2004-03-11 | 6:37 p.m.

Ick. My first STD.

My doctor just called and confirmed... I have The Clap.

Even though I'm pissed about it (that seems punny, doesn't it?), I'm sort of bemused too because it's such a minor issue. Just a bacteria, I guess, and I've already taken the medicine to treat it. Should be gone in a day or two.

The bad news is that I'm not supposed to be sexually active for about two more weeks, until I can get tested again just to make sure it's gone. So if things go really well with the guy I'm seeing on Monday... I'll have to put it on hold. Which is SO not my style.

...which is probably why I have fucking chlamydia in the first place.

*****

In much more important medical news, I'm at my parents' house right now because my mom was in the hospital. She called me last night to say that she admitted herself because she was having chest pains. She didn't want me to call anyone, or to come down from Minneapolis, or to make a big deal of it. Of course, the minute I hung up the phone I drove down to be with her in the hospital. I stayed there until around 1 AM, then went back today at 9 and spent the day with her. We just got back an hour ago. Her heart checked out fine, so they just want her to rest and go back for some follow-up exams. She'll be in mint condition in no time.

It's strange and empowering to be your caretaker's caretaker. I had to "make the call" to my brother, my parents' best friends, my mom's best friend, etc. It was sort of surreal, especially because it was a minor medical thing. What if it were something serious? This makes me so thankful for the health of the people I love. Hospitals are shitty places to be.

last entry | next entry