fish!
fish!
square square
V.D. = bad
2004-02-15 | 11:36 a.m.

Valentine's Day came and went with no great ceremony. I hate that stupid holiday. When I've been in relationships on V.D. (BTW, do you think it's just coincidence that it shares the same acronym as venereal disease??), it's always been this big pressure to do something romantic and spontaneous, yet completely planned out in advance. And now that I'm not in a relationship, there's this feeling of "What's wrong with me??" that I don't have a date on V.D. I think it's the most guilt-ridden holiday in existence, no matter what your relationship status is.

Anywho, I had breakfast with my parents and we caught up, which was fun. Went to French Meadow, which is one of the best places in the world to eat breakfast. I had a cinnamon roll that was HUGE!!!

I hung out here for awhile, jammed out to ABBA Gold, had a long call with my ex-boyfriend which was 90% delightful and 10% awful. Then I went to Best Buy and bought a bunch of random action movies. I was going to buy romantic comedies and stay in tonight, but I think I subconsciously chose films such as "Gladiator," "The Long Kiss Goodnight," and "Eraser" for their lack of romantic schmaltz/soft lighting/Meg Ryan.

Then I went to Carrie's house, ordered a big fat pizza, and watched big fat Russell Crowe in "Gladiator." And it was good.

Tonight I'm going to an anti-V.D. party, which should be a real hootenanny. I plan to get wasted and crash there, although the hostess doesn't know yet. Hehehe...

In other news, you should read this link about the flurry of gay marriages that happened in San Francisco on Thursday and Friday to protest the recent anti-gay, anti-marriage rhetoric flying around. Be sure to follow the links at the bottom of the pages so you can see all the pictures. I lost it about halfway through the second page. It's just such a beautiful way of protesting bigotry. I think John Lennon, MLK jr., Gandhi, et. al would be very pleased with this. Here is my favorite picture. A group of local school children came for the day to watch all of the happenings, so these guys got an "audience" while the judge performed the ceremony.

wedding

last entry | next entry