fish!
fish!
square square
it's my destiny
2004-01-21 | 9:56 p.m.

Hmm, another phone conversation with New Boy today that was strange. He was much nicer this time, sounded happy to talk to me, and was generally pleasant.

Only one weird thing. Keep in mind that it looks like I'll get one night a WEEK with this kid. So tomorrow night is my night, when he's not working and our schedules coincide. We made plans to go to sOliloquy's spoken word show later in the night, and I asked, "So do you want to get dinner beforehand? I work until about 5 PM." He thinks for a minute, then says.

"Probably not." And nothing else.

Not about to let him get away with that, I just say "Oh" and stop talking. Finally, he says, "I'm on a budget because I just bought a TV. So I'll just eat something here and we can meet up later."

Did I mention that this is the ONE night a week I get with him? And I have to work the next day, so I'm not staying up all night? So he will get about four or five hours of my time, if he's lucky.

I don't even care that he is on a budget, but couldn't he at least say, "Why don't we make dinner here?" or something? In the same situation I would compromise, just so that I could spend more time with the person I'm dating whom I only see once a week. Am I the crazy one here? This is all surreal. I don't get him.

In other news, I taught my first CPR class tonight and it was lots of fun. I forgot how much fun the kids are where I work. They're also very smart and quick studies. I had to do some actual "teaching," and it seemed to come fairly easy to me. One of my friends keeps telling me that I am destined to be a teacher... maybe this is the first step? I don't know.

What I do know is that I worked for 14 hours straight today and now I'm about to pass out.

last entry | next entry