fish!
fish!
square square
disappointment...
2004-01-19 | 4:16 p.m.

Am I crazy? I think I'm overthinking the guy I'm dating. We've only been on two real dates now and I'm already a mess of emotions.

I was SO excited to see him on Friday night, and we decided to stay in at his house, watch a movie, maybe hang out with this roommates, etc. I got there around 11:30 PM, all ready to cuddle and talk to him. He gave me a peck, sat down on the couch, and remained engrossed in the TV for about an hour. He sort of ignored me when I tried to talk to him. Very confusing.

Then he wanted to hang out with his roommates, play board games, etc. and all I could think was, Okay, enough family time, when do we cut to the sex?

FINALLY, around 4:30 AM I said "I'm going to bed soon" and made for my jacket. Suddenly he wanted me to come upstairs to "hang out." Which was fine. We made out, sex, etc. In preparation for the night, I had brought my contact lens case and solution. But after about ten minutes of cuddling, he started making a point of saying, "OK, I have to go to bed soon." Finally I realized that what he really meant to say was, "I want you to leave so I can go to sleep." I got a little huffy, and he explained that he can't sleep in the same bed with people he doesn't know that well.

Right. Whatevs. When I pointed out the subtle fact that he had my dick in his mouth just ten minutes earlier he didn't have much to say.

So I drove home all pissy at 5:30, and I realized after awhile that the ONLY thing that really pissed me off was that he wouldn't let me spend the night. It made me feel cheap. Really cheap.

So we made plans to see each other again on Thursday night, which I'm looking forward to. He called me yesterday (Sunday) and left a voicemail, but I was out with friends until 2:30 AM. On a whim, I called his house at 2:30 and left a message (he was still at work). He called me back at 4:30 this morning, which woke me up but I didn't care because I just wanted to talk to him.

We had a fine conversation, but he definitely was not nice, or sweet, or complimentary, or any of the things I would expect of the guy I'm dating. He was just sassy and a little rude. When talking about Thursday, he said, "Well, I've got plans during the day, and then I have something to do for a little while at night, but I set aside some time for you." To which I said, "Gee, thanks. Glad you could pencil me in." When I told him that I want to go to sOliloquy's performance that night, he said, "Is it mandatory that you have to go?" Which really pissed me off. To top everything off, HE told ME, "Well, it's late and I need to sleep so I'm going to let you go." I said, "Excuse me, who woke up whom here?" We finally hung up and I was just like, "Peace out. Whatever."

So now I'm all confused. I need to know where this is going. Is that premature? I'm not getting very positive vibes from him. I liked him on Tuesday night, when he was all sweet and cute and touchy-feely, but I DON'T like the guy he was on Friday and then last night on the phone. Very cold and unaffectionate. Sarcastic. Sort of stuck on himself. I hope that's not who he really is, but now I'm not sure.

All I can do is wait until Thursday, see what time he "penciled me in for" and go from there. I am definitely talking to him about the no-sleeping-together thing. I won't have sex with him if I can't then share the same bed with him to sleep. That makes me feel like a 'ho, and cuddling is the BEST part about sex, after all. I also want to talk to him to see what he wants out of this. If he wants anything more, he has to start being nicer to me, and make a better effort to make time for me. I work more hours than he does, but I still have lots of time to spend with him.

Okay, enough ranting. I hope I don't scare him away just because I have these concerns. But if I do, oh well. I'm not as psyched as I was a few days ago.

last entry | next entry