fish!
fish!
square square
on how life is
2003-07-14 | 8:40 p.m.

Update: (I require these to be in the form of a numbered list, recently...)

1. I've been feeling... I don't know... a little self-isolated recently. (That is supposed to be funny, but without my pathetic accent it doesn't really carry, does it?) I was SO busy in June, both socially and professionaly. And now along comes July and if I don't have plans on any given night I feel like a loser. It's such a strange backlash. I didn't do anything this past Friday night out of sheer stubbornness. I reached a point where I was sick of calling people to invite them to do stuff, but I was desperately lonely and wanting to get out of the house. So I decided I would let fate handle it: if I was meant to go out on Friday night, then my phone would mercifully ring and I would have plans.

It never rang.

So I played SimCity 3000 until 11:30 and then went to bed. Yeah, I know... Pathetic.

On Saturday I went to a party at a colleagues house. It was all work people there, and I was the youngest person by about 20 years. Which was sort of fun, but also sort of boring. It made me wish I had a date to bring with me.

On Sunday my phone did ring! It was Julie! We went to the Bastille Day thing in uptown. I had a really good time hanging out with her, Andrew, and New Boy. (More on him later...) We saw DVRG and his band perform, which was also a lot of fun. Drank lots of free beer. New Boy was working at one of the beer stands and he made me count out his tip money into stacks of twenty one-dollar bills while he was swamped. Let me just say that he went home a rich, rich man that night. I'm guessing about $400 in tips. I hate him. A lot.

2. That's right, this is a numbered list! I almost bought a new computer on Friday night. I made an impulse purchase on Thursday night--a $50 computer game that I was really excited about. (Guilty confession #255,351: I like to play computer games. Shh, don't tell! I'm gay! It'll ruin my reputation!) But I came home, installed it, and discovered that my year-old laptop won't play it. So I was literally minutes away from buying a brand-new computer on Friday night and suddenly an voice was channeled into my brain that told me "STOP! WHAT ARE YOU, AN IDIOT?! YOUR COMPUTER IS PRACTICALLY BRAND NEW, AND IT'S PAID FOR!!!" Yes, that's right.... it was my mother. So read my lips: no new computers.

3. Um, work is going well but I always feel like that is boring for other people to read about. I am part of a three-person group that is creating a new program for nation-wide arts teachers, and we had our first meeting today. Very exciting stuff, to be on the ground-level of something this big. They asked me how much money they should "budget" for me as "overtime", and after I demurred they put it at a few thousand. Yay! Money! Also lots of fun alumni stuff going on, and I came up with what I think is a fabulous annual alumni event idea... "Rededication," which won't mean anything to anyone who didn't go to my school. But there it is, in all its splendor.

4. Okay, okay, fine... New Boy update. Nothing has happened. Honest! There has been LOTS of flirting, innuendo, etc. but nothing serious. I am definitely not going to make a first move, and if he does I don't know how I will react. Is that lame or what? I literally have no idea what I would do if he tried to tongue me all of the sudden. All I can say is, when I saw him on Sunday he looked HOT and he was being hit on by some of the people he waited on and I got really jealous. He also told me he slept with a co-worker/friend a few weeks ago and I got really jealous about that too. As Julie rightly pointed out, I want to have the best of both worlds. I have a boyfriend already and I'm not exactly all over New Boy, but I don't want him to be all over anybody else because he's MINE, dammit! I want him to have a huge crush on me and nobody else!

I know that I can't have it both ways. Either something has to come of our relationship or we will resign ourselves to friendship and he can sleep with whomever or whatever he wants while I continue to do "research" on the Internet. Sigh.

On that note, I believe it is time for me to depart. A tub of cookies and cream ice-cream beckons me thither!

last entry | next entry