fish!
fish!
square square
jon lovitzes
2003-04-23 | 8:31 p.m.

Morpho-fucking-genetics. So yesterday at work I was thumbing through an online database of summer arts courses offered in MN. I am in charge of some data entry for this ridiculously huge database. I suddenly came across the name of a contact person for one of the summer courses that seemed so familiar. She was listed as being the managing director of a well-known metro-area dance company. This person had the same name as an old, old friend from before I went away to boarding school with whom I had lost touch after my freshman year of college. She is this great, funny, intelligent girl who I haven't really thought of too much (because she was always a peripheral friend), but as soon as I saw the name I lit up. I sent the person an e-mail asking if it indeed was the girl that I knew and.. it was! I am so excited. She lives in Mpls now, in the same neighborhood as me actually. I didn't even know she was in Minneapolis, much less that she is working in an arts organization like myself.

So we e-mailed back and forth all day today and we are getting together next week for dinner! I am so excited I can't even tell you. I just remember us being totally on the same wavelength, especially in terms of our senses of humor (which tend toward the geeky and self-depricating side...). Yay! It's fun reconnecting with old friends!!! The best news is that, unless she has changed in the past few years, she is a drinking friend, which is always a huge bonus in my world. I'll keep you posted as we (hopefully) rekindle our friendship.

I went to dinner with my mom tonight, who was in town on her way to the campground north of Mpls. My parents are nudists--have I mentioned that already? I can't remember if I devoted an entry to it or not. It's really not a big deal to me, or to them, or to anybody else, really, that I know. They just spend their summer weekends up at "Nudieland," as I like to call it. This is good, though, because it means I get to see them more often over the summer! (Don't worry--I make THEM come to ME out here in the real world, where people wear clothes...)

I am exhausted. I took Julie to the hospital this morning, so I was up at 5:30 AM, then I worked until 5 PM, and now I just got back from dinner with mommy dearest. I held up very well until just now, and I'm ready to crash at any second.

Oh, and random final story: I tried so pathetically to get this ugly gay waiter to look at me tonight. I'm not Brad Pitt, but some days I desperately crave to be checked out, even by an ugly person. But this ugly gay waiter kept buzzing all over the section where we were sitting but he didn't give me a second look. Of course, this became a huge challenge to me, so I went out of my way to make it painfully obvious that I was looking at him, but he still wouldn't glance at me. I played with my straw... I twirled my short little hair... I rubbed my semi-stubbly chin... I flopped my wrists up and down... None of the regular tricks worked. Finally I asked him where the bathroom was, and he didn't even make EYE-CONTACT with me when he responded! As if! There's nothing worse than an ugly gay waiter with a pixie-stick shoved up his ass, walking around like he's Benjamin Bratt surrounded by a bunch of Jon Lovitzes. Grr.

I'm a little bitter.

last entry | next entry