fish!
fish!
square square
crocheting is very forgiving
2003-04-13 | 5:17 p.m.

The concert went really well last night, I think. Our piece got off to a shaky start, but we regathered ourselves and plunged ahead, and that's all that matters. I thought it was so much fun to be up on stage again, playing with some of my best friends, making music... I never thought of myself as a "performer," but I found that I like playing with a group. Less pressure, and much more fun to create something as a group rather than individually. I have always liked to collaborate--I don't know why I didn't make the connection with music and collaboration sooner.

Angela and I have been talking about performing some more together, maybe at open mics or something like that. I think that would be cool. We're talking about doing a caberet-style show where we cover a bunch of songs with our own spin on them. I love covering songs, and I love working with Angela, so this all sounds fabulous to me. Maybe we can talk Eli into helping us out a bit too on electric guitar. I couldn't gauge how much he was into the type of music we were playing, but he did a wonderful job with us and he has a great style.

I heard that Sarah and David were there for our piece, but I was too busy schlepping stuff around on the stage to see them. It was fun having out own cheering section there. I do wish more people would have shown up, especially current students at the school, but que sera... This made it less stressful, I guess!

When I woke up this morning, all I wanted to do is work on my novel. (I am starting to use that word with great hesitancy...) And all that I have done today is avoid working on my novel. I have...

1. Played piano for over two hours.

2. Downloaded a few songs on MP3.

3. Made lunch and spent way too much time thinking about what I will make for dinner.

4. Crocheted! (Did I mention that Sarah taught me how to crochet on Friday night?) I am getting pretty good at it now, thanks to some top-notch instruction. I have been telling myself that crocheting will allow me to relax and concentrate on what I will write, but so far all I can think about is how many more stitches I have left until I get to the end of the row... I can't wait to tell my grandma--she'll be so proud!

5. Written a long, rambling diaryland entry about, well, nothing really. But now I WILL start writing, I swear. Just need to concentrate...

Hmm, but it is almost time for dinner...

last entry | next entry