fish!
fish!
square square
word up
2003-04-12 | 10:37 a.m.

My phone is going to ring, I can promise you that.

I have tried to update three times over the past week, but I am foiled every time by my damn phone ringing, which leads to hours of conversation, which leads to me forgetting all about my entry...

So here we go. I'm going to send this no matter what, even if I'm midsentence.

Here's what's new.

1. I'm performing tonight! Me and a few friends are playing at this alumni concert at our old high school. I probably mentioned this in an earlier entry. I haven't played piano in front of anybody since the wedding I did last summer, and I haven't played with a group in front of people since high school. I'm not really nervous at all. I don't think there will be a large crowd there tonight, considering that they never mailed out the advertisements this week. Everyone who is there will be there strictly by word of mouth. I'll let you know how it goes.

2. I had to help run a conference at the Science Museum this weekend for my job. It was a really cool space to have it, the food was good, and they gave us free wristbands to all of the exhibits as an extra perk. Some of the participants in the conference were really crabby with me for things that were not my fault. If they had apologized once they discovered that it wasn't my fault, everything would have been fine. But even afterward they still acted all snotty toward me. I sometimes think I am discriminated against because I am male. Seriously! I work with all of these middle-aged ladies who talk to me as if I am an incompetent idiot because I am a 23-year old male. Now, some of them are really great. But some talk to me as if I am one of their eighth grade students, which really pisses me off. Other than that, the conference was fabulous.

3. I got really positive feedback at my writing class on Monday. I was nervous because I submitted a futuristic fiction piece which is the beginning of a longer story. I think that exposition is very difficult, especially in something like sci-fi where the reader doesn't know the state of the world, the scenario, etc. But, fortunately, my classmates seemed able to follow the story, and all of them said that they wanted to read more! And my writing teacher, who is a really tough cookie who is quite stingy with the compliments, told me that I should turn my 14-page beginning into a novel. So that was cool. Now I am really motivated to write. It's amazing how my life is entirely fueled by compliments...

4. My boy is coming to visit at the end of May! He is going to buy his plane ticket this weekend. I am so excited. He will be here for a week and a half, and I am going to take some vacation time off from work. We might drive down to Madison for a few days to visit old friends there and get completely shitfaced. Ahh, good ol' college days.

5. Minnesota just approved a new contract for state employees that removes the domestic partner benefits that we previously had. As one DFL legislator was quoted as saying, "Minnesota is moving backward in time..."

6. I really liked the concert at David's house on Thursday night. It was cool to see him doing what he loves--singing, songwriting, etc. The other two acts were really good as well. I bought one guy's CD, but I can never remember his goofy name. I've never been to a concert in somebody's basement apartment before, but I found that I liked the intimacy of it. Especially when it was time for the singalong. (Yes, you read correctly... a singalong!)

7. Um, there's a lot more but my phone is destined to ring at any second. Getting my haircut today, thank god. I want something short and spiky for the concert, I think.

Peace out.

last entry | next entry