fish!
fish!
square square
culture (not of the "throat" variety)
2003-03-16 | 6:26 p.m.

I am so behind in writing in this thing that I won't even bother trying to catch up. It would be too long and too boring, I'm sure, for even the most stalwart reader...

However, I will mention that this has been a week of great culture for me. For some reason it seems that every practicing artist I know had a performance over the past few days. It was great seeing so much and such varied art, but my mind feels culturally overloaded today!

First, I am so proud of this girl, whose spoken-word talent has been on the steady increase since I moved up here in November. She has always been good, but I saw her perform twice this week and she was excellent!! Soliloquy coordinated and performed at an anti-war performance/information session/open mic on Thursday and when she got on the mic she ROCKED it. She had people standing up, chanting with her, etc. We were all blown away. And then she had her first "paid" performance doing spoken word on Saturday night and, once again, when she rocked the mic, she rocked the mic right. I think she was better than the performers who were supposed to be the "headliners" at the club. Y'all should run out and buy her book. (Only $5, and guaranteed typo-free by yours truly, her official editor.)

Eww, the people upstairs are listening to funk... What is it with geeky, white twenty-five-year-olds and their funk? I have met the people upstairs and trust me, the only thing funky about them is their armpits...

The weather has been gorgeous this weekend, but I haven't had much of a chance to get out and enjoy it. I'm doing laundry now, so I'm apartment-bound. This is good, though, because now I'm motivated to revise the story that I submitted to my writing class.

My critique this week went much better than expected. I was quite literally considering not going to the class because I convinced myself that my piece of writing was SO terrible that people would snicker when I entered the room. Then, on the drive to the class, I convinced myself that the room would break into applause when I entered because my writing was such a work of genius. So yeah, can you see how I'm slightly schitzo?

Neither of those two things happened, although I was surprised that so many people 1. like it, and 2. GOT it, which I really didn't expect. They didn't get everything, but that's not their fault. I am going to focus my revision on making the nuances of the piece less nuancical. No, that's not a word.

So, to recap, in the past few days I have been to 1. An anti-war performance thing, 2. A high school literary arts reading, 3. A choral performance at the U of M, composed by one of my former composition teachers, 4. A spoken word show, 5. A political theater festival, and tomorrow I am going to, 6. An orchestral reading of an opera by another colleague of mine.

Phew!

Couldn't all this stuff be spread out over a few weeks?

last entry | next entry