fish!
fish!
square square
nut butt stew
2003-02-23 | 11:38 a.m.

I had the weirdest thing happen last night. It was so surreal that I woke up this morning and thought it was just a dream.

I was woken up in the middle of the night by sirens blasting outside my window. I live near a fire station, so that didn't warrant any concern for me--I just ignored it (like a true city boy) and fell back asleep. Then, about half an hour later, I awoke to the noise of what sounded like a chainsaw outside my window. Memories of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" suddenly flooded back into my mind and I was out of my bed in about two seconds flat! I threw on my glasses and raced to the window.

I have NO idea how this happened without it waking me up, but somehow a car had driven the wrong way down the one-way street outside my window and had ended up laying completely on its side. If there had been a collision, I sure didn't see the other car anywhere, just the car laying on the driver's side. Surrounding the car were a fire truck, three police cars, and and ambulance, and about fifteen emergency workers trying to get the guy out. They were using some sort of sawing device to rip the entire top of the car off and extract the man, who, based on the beer-belly I saw when they got him onto the stretcher, must have been in his 40s or 50s.

I watched the entire thing, from the extraction to the eventual cleanup of the accident, before falling back asleep. I just couldn't figure out how a car could end up on its side in the middle of the street?! Does anyone have any ideas? This mystery kept me awake for most of the night, and I'm sure I dreamed about it when I eventually did fall asleep. Even if the car collided with another vehicle at an angle at a high speed, would that have enough force to actually tip the car over? And even though it was dark and my glasses are the wrong prescription, I couldn't see any sign of serious impact on the front end of the car.

This was so strange.

OOH, revision! I just looked out my window, and in the light of day I noticed that a truck parked along the street has a huge dent in its rear corner (the one closest to the street), and it has been rammed into the car in front of it, which also has bumper damage. So it appears that the car hit that parked truck, possibly did a 180, and then somehow ended up on its side? Hmm, this still doesn't make much sense.

Last night I baked a really good quiche. The crust was made out of hash browns, and there were red and green peppers and tons of cheese in it. I'm back in a baking mood--look out world! Today I think it is oatmeal-applesauce-chocolate-chip cookies. Then I'm watching the Grammys tonight to see if I can see my boy. That would be really cool if I did.

And this is for you.

last entry | next entry