fish!
fish!
square square
lost in yonkers
2003-01-26 | 1:17 a.m.

Phew! I just got home from Toni's and I'm a little tipsy. Don't even ask me why I drove home. I felt fine, but as soon as I pulled into my garage I stumbled out of the car door and almost ran into a column. Stupid stupid stupid...

The party was fun, but a little awkward at first because I didn't know anybody and they didn't really try to include me in their law-school-inside jokes. It was better once people started leaving, and then MUCH better when four of us went to a local bar. It was fun to go to a collegy bar again... seems like such a long time since I walked to a bar!

Interesting tidbit: About two hours into the dinner, people started swapping bar/bat mitzvah stories. I suddenly realized that out of about twelve people I was the only "goy" there! It's funny being a minority when you least expect it.

I did get a bit annoyed, however. For some reason I keep befriending East Coast types who have nothing good to say about the Midwest. I honestly can't defend the Midwest in any way, but I did grow up here and most of the people I love and care about are Midwesterners. Therefore, I do get a little offended when rich, vaguely snobby East Coasties come to school in the Midwest and spend their entire time here bitching about how boring/ugly/poorly dressed/tacky/etc. all Midwesterners are. All I have to say is, "Nobody forced you to come here, don't let the door hit you on the ass when Daddy flies you back to Long Island..." I hardly think that Yonkers is the pinnacle of culture and refinement.

Time to pass out. More later.

last entry | next entry