fish!
fish!
square square
who knew?
2003-01-01 | 2:19 p.m.

I found them! My People! I have been searching high and low over this cursed city for where the attractive young gay men convene. Who knew they were practically in my backyard?

Banana Republic! How could I have been so blind? All I need to do is hop in my car, drive ten minutes, and I'm at Southdale Banana Republic, surrounded by hunky young professionals and suspiciously coiffed men. I was in homo heaven yesterday. You got a lot of homos at the Gaps and B.R.s where I used to live, but they were of the Goo-Goo Dolls-haircut/so thin they look like toothpicks/wearing low-rise jeans and J.Lo's-perfume variety homos.

So imagine my surprise when I found guys who were sort of like me at B.R. yesterday (except waaaay hunkier and better dressed. Curse that employee discount!).

The best part was that I was able to work my mojo a bit while I was there. I used my trademark hit-on-retail-clerk line: "Excuse me... I'm color-blind. Can you tell me if these pants are green or brown?" I really AM color-blind, and the pants really DID look brownish-green to me, but I definitely zeroed in on the hottest clerk and that was no accident. Turns out he's a graphic design person and he took a class on color-blindness. And he had a sexy accent. And we made lots of eye contact. And he told me to "Please come again," and I think he really meant it! Well, okay, maybe he has to say that. I don't know.

Sigh. I love flirting. Too bad I suck at taking the next step, like exchanging phone numbers or whatever. I'm a bad gauage of another person's interest. Maybe he was just humoring me. Or maybe he wanted to ravage me right there next to the till and I had no clue. Hmm. Must become more perceptive. Or brave?

last entry | next entry