fish!
fish!
square square
power tools
2002-12-27 | 1:01 a.m.

How strange is this... One of my gifts this year was a cordless electric drill. Normally I would be horrified to receive such a gift (which ranks up there with "Kleenex box cozy" and "macrame wall-hanging" in terms of presents I would rather die than receive). However, I am pretty excited to have my own power tool for once. I am tired of having to wait for my dad to bring up his power tools whenever I want to hang something on my walls. And the REAL reason I am excited is that my drill is sleek, stylish, and oh-so-elegant. It is small and silver, with a subtle shine to it. The bits (?) that you put into it are also shiny and sleek, and they are neatly organized into a row from smallest to biggest. I'm not really sure when you would use a big one as opposed to a small one, but I do feel a lot more at ease knowing that I have options, I guess.

But now the weird part: I just talked to Monica, and she got a "Drummel" for Christmas, which is (for those of you who aren't as knowledgeable about the wide world of power tools as me) a versatile electric thingie with tons of different bits for drilling, sanding, etc. And she was really excited about this! I was excited for her, because I am so excited for me. Were this any other year, I would be mortified to imagine the poor girl unwrapping a big hunk of machinery on Christmas morning, a look of disappointment flashing on her face for an instant, only to be replaced by a forced smile and a "Thank you" through clenched teeth.

But no, she was excited, and I understand.

And now I learn that Sarah got a cordless drill for Christmas too! Power tools really are the hot gift of the season! Forget about Furbees, who cares about Tickle Me Elmos, throw your Tamagatchi to the curb... Cordless drills are where it's at.

last entry | next entry