fish!
fish!
square square
california dreamin'
2002-12-17 | 8:40 p.m.

I don't remember what I wrote in my previous entries about my ex-boyfriend Matt, so here's a quick recap so that this entry makes a semblance of sense:

1. I meet Matt first weekend of college, end up dating him for three years.

2. Matt had an exboyfriend of only 9 months before me, and the whole time we were dating I was insanely jealous of this guy, Dan, because he is very, very attractive. However, Matt made him sound like a complete loser and had not one nice thing to say about him while we were together.

3. I break up with Matt before my Senior year of college, he moves to L.A. Incidentally, Dan moves to L.A. too and they end up becoming best buddies out of NOWHERE! Even though I am not with Matt, and have a new boyfriend, I am STILL insanely jealous of my ex-boyfriend hanging out with his ex-boyfriend. I strongly suspect they are sleeping together, but have no evidence to back up said claim. Blood boils.

4. When Matt and I lived together in Madison, we had a roommate, Cel. The three of us lived together for two years, and sort of became a weird "family." When Matt and I broke up, we kept sleeping together for almost a year afterwards, but we snuck around the house at night so Cel wouldn't know about it.

5. Cel calls me tonight because she thinks she will be moving to L.A. in January. Guess who she might be moving in with? Her, Matt, and Dan are going to be looking for three bedrooms. They've replaced me with Dan, my arch-rival! I am so peeved. I feel completely replaced in this situation, like I am interchangeable with this oaf. (A well-manicured, six-pack-abs enhanced oaf.) My jealousy continues to boil. I imagine Matt sneaking into Dan's room late at night, hoping Cel won't hear. Blood turns to steam and evaporates.

This is all about sex. I had a crush on Dan the whole time I was with Matt, which made my jealousy even more unbearable. I would think, "Why would Matt be with me when he could have that?" After Matt and I really broke up, I actually even pursued Dan a little bit, but nothing came of it. He knows who I am, but held me at a firm distance. But even now when I think about him, my face flushes. I'm clearly not through with Dan yet, and I'm definitely not through with Matt if I still get jealous that he is with other people besides me.

So I finally realized what needs to happen for me to finally get over Matt, his fucking ex-boyfriend, and bring myself inner peace.

I have to fly to L.A. and sleep with them both.

So there. Problem solved.

last entry | next entry