fish!
fish!
square square
good tempered with bad
2002-10-25 | 8:47 p.m.

First, thanks Julie and Sarah for the kind words of encouragement. I really do appreciate it! This has been a hell of a long process but I think there is a silver lining ahead.

The interview went really well today. If I had to rank all of the interviews I've ever done, this would be at the top of the list. As soon as I walked in the door of the interview chamber (akin to a torture chamber, mind you), I felt totally calm and forgot about the whole "two-months-of-waiting-and-being-jerked-around" thing. There were three people on the panel this time: the lady for whom I would work and two other administrators in the same department.

We had an instant rapport. I was telling stupid jokes, they were laughing (which speaks volumes about them, trust me). I think I answered all of their questions pretty well. They seemed to respond to my answers.

The best part, though, was that the lady who had originally asked me to interview, and who had sat on my last interview panel, fed me questions that she knew I could answer well. So she would say things like, "I remember you talking about *such-and-such* at the last interview. Could you talk a little about that?" It seemed to me that she wanted to give her co-interviewers a good impression of me, which I take as a very excellent sign.

After the interview, I stopped by my old dormitory and chatted with Wendy, my friend Monica's mom, and Mary P., the dorm coordinator. They were both excited about my interview, and they both said that they were going to call Pam and put in a good word for me, which I really appreciate. Just goes to show that it is always wise to leave a good impression because you never know when you'll need to tap those old connections!

I should know by Wednesday at the latest about their decision. I don't like to make premature guesses, but I think my interview went very well, and I think they all seemed pleased. Unless they are totally blown away by another applicant, I think (hope!!!) that I have a pretty good shot. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I was so saddened to learn about the plane crash that killed Sen. Paul Wellstone today. I heard about it just before the interview began and it was hard pulling myself together to forget about the tragedy and focus on their questions. I had so much respect for Wellstone because he always stayed true to his conscience, no matter how "radical" it may have been perceived as being. Even if you disagreed with him, you had to respect him for sticking to his guns and voting his heart. I think he joins the pantheon of truly great Minnesotans that have served this state with admirable courage and intelligence. Our state will really miss him.

last entry | next entry